Spoken word/poetry

[Updated poem 11 april 2010]
Ok, so there are a lot of people out there writing poetry, and while they may be extraordinary and convey a message that needs to be conveyed, it doesn't always attract all kinds of people. Sometimes a poem has a style and feeling that is quite different of what you think a poem should be or a feeling that is just too alien to make you understand and relate to it.

That's how it has mostly been for me, and while in the past I did test my poetry skills, it feels like I was far too young and lost to find the style I liked. That's not the case now, after I've listened and watched to some poetry from the show "Def jam poetry". Just search youtube and you'll find a lot of clips with different people having written poems in all kinds of styles and about all kinds of issues. Quite a few are also funny and don't necessarily adress issues of politics, race or gender ^^

Anyway, I just wanted to post a poem that I wrote to start what is hopefully a lasting interest of mine, namely, spoken word poetry. I spent about 5 mins on the first version, and it was mainly to test my skills and creativity, but this is the second version and...well, I'll just let the poem speak for itself =)

I wanna make words
I wanna make you think
About all kinds of things
And make you make the links

You see words have power they say
And now Imma test it
I’ll write a verse or two
Now hear me through and accept it

I wanna make you wonder
At how obvious things can be
You see sometimes another person sees, differently

I wanna make you take my words
And let them open your eyes
Only then to make you believe my lies

I feel this can be the start, of something new
I hope I can go on
I hope I can stay true

They say man makes mistakes
But I say man is the mistake
That’s what I learned
When I saw man dry up an entire lake

And then you hear them say
that God doesn’t exist
and all the while they just can’t see
that they themselves are the greatest proof that can be

how wondrous is a creature like man?
Seeing through orbs of fat
Talks with a lump of flesh
Feels with a heart
but then makes that mistake
and breaks a fart

you see? It’s all about the good and the bad
the pros and the cons
Gotta make ‘em think
Gotta make ‘em read between the lines

You see building cranes all over these days
I can’t understand why, why are they this hard trying?
When people out there are still dying

I learned in school in social science
That the further away you are
From gunshots and a blown up car
The less it bothers your conscience

Now I hope you heard
I hope you’ve listened
To what I had to say
And what I before mentioned

Now I’ll save my time and leave you alone
Didn’t you hear me the first time?
Yeah, that's what I was countin' on


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0